Snowshoeing in Levi: which of four trips

Close view of a walker's legs in grey gaiters and boots strapped into red snowshoes, stepping through deep snow

Illustration photo: snowshoes in the Italian Alps, not on the Levi trips.

The short answer

For a forest walk from the village, book Tokka Safaris if you can walk to its office, or Safartica if you need collecting. For views, book Polar Star's walk down from the summit, which also takes the youngest children. For the aurora, take Lapland Safaris' evening walk, but only with everyone at least twelve.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Tokka SafarisSafarticaPolar Star TravelLapland Safaris
Price from €90 €96 €119 €101
Where Forest Forest Fell top, downhill Evening, aurora
Youngest 12 12 7 12
Getting there Walk to the office Pick-up within 10 km, 48 h notice Transport from the village Not stated
Winter clothing Included Included Not listed Not stated

Only the price is marked, as arithmetic. The cheapest walk has no pick-up, so add the cost of reaching the village when comparing it.

Where these figures come from
  • Tokka Safaris: A forest walk from the company's office in the village, with berry juice and biscuits, for up to eight.
  • Safartica: A forest walk with clothing and hot drinks; runs only when at least two adults have booked.
  • Polar Star Travel: A drive to the top of the fell, a walk down through its forest and a grilled sausage in a Lappish hut.
  • Lapland Safaris: An evening walk at half past seven to look for the aurora, graded moderate by the company.

The four trips below are the guided snowshoe walks sold for Levi on the pages we read, apart from one that ends at a Santa cabin, which the FAQ covers.

In the forest

Tokka Safaris meets at its office on Leviraitti in the village, dresses you in a thermal outfit and keeps the group to eight, with berry juice and biscuits on the way.1 Safartica’s walk is similar, with winter clothing, hot drinks and something sweet, but it goes ahead only if two adults have booked, and it collects you within ten kilometres only if you ask two days ahead.2

From the top of the fell

Polar Star Travel drives you from the tourist office up Levi, about a quarter of an hour each way, and you walk down through what it calls the Fairy Tale Forest, stopping for a grilled sausage by the fire in a Lappish hut. It takes children from seven and lists no winter clothing.3

After dark

Lapland Safaris walks out at half past seven in the evening to look for the aurora. It grades the walk moderate, and children must be at least twelve; those from twelve to fourteen book as children.4 If the aurora is the reason, the northern lights guide for Levi compares the other ways to look for it.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

What happens on a very cold day?

Polar Star says it may change the route in extreme cold and that you get a full refund if you would rather not go on the changed route. The other listings do not say what they do, so on a day forecast to be far below minus twenty, ask the company the evening before whether the trip will run as booked.

Can we combine snowshoes with a Santa visit?

Yes. Alex Tar Production sells a four-hour snowshoe walk to a Santa cabin with a sausage barbecue, for groups of up to four and not for children under ten. It is sold as a Santa trip, and [Santa Claus in Levi](/guides/santa-claus-levi/) compares it with the other ways of meeting him there.

Do we need our own winter clothing?

On the two forest walks, no: Tokka lends a thermal outfit and Safartica winter clothing. Polar Star's listing names the guide, snowshoes, poles and transport but no clothing, and the aurora walk's page did not say, so for those two ask before booking whether to come dressed for two hours outdoors. Under any overall, wear wool or synthetic layers rather than cotton, which stays damp.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →