Snowmobile safari prices in Kemi

An aerial view of a wide frozen bay with a dark open channel, snowmobile tracks across the ice and a distant cluster of machines and people

Illustration photo: a frozen bay from above, not on any of the trips priced here.

The short answer

If the hour matters more than the sea ice, book the four-hour trip at the snowmobile park: at 24.75 euros an hour it is about a quarter of what the rides onto the frozen Bothnian Bay cost, and it seats children in a sled. If you want the bay, the night ride is the cheapest of those hours and the sunrise and sunset rides the dearest. Ask about driving alone before you book, because the platform listings mostly leave the supplement out.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Lapland Salmon Lodge: parkSea Lapland Safaris: sunriseSea Lapland Safaris: nightSea Lapland Safaris: forest
Price €99 – the lowest price per person €130 €150 €260
Duration 4 h 1.5 h 2 h 3 h
Price per hour €24.75 – the lowest price per hour €86.67 €75.00 €86.67
Where you ride Snowmobile park Frozen Bothnian Bay Forest and frozen bay Bay to wilderness forest
Winter clothing Not stated Included with helmet Included with helmet Included with helmet
Children In a sled From 12 and 140 cm, behind the driver Not stated Not stated

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person and the lowest price per hour. All four price per person. The per-hour row divides the listed price by the listed duration, which includes the briefing and any transfer, not only the driving; no listing here states its driving time.

Where these figures come from
  • Lapland Salmon Lodge: park: Four hours at a snowmobile park with a warm cabin, snacks and a pick-up, and a sled for children. The cheapest hour here by a wide margin.
  • Sea Lapland Safaris: sunrise: Ninety minutes on the frozen bay with the outfit and helmet lent. The dearest hour, shared with the forest safari, and a solo supplement that is not priced.
  • Sea Lapland Safaris: night: Two hours through forest and over the bay, with the chance of the aurora. The cheapest hour of the rides that leave town.
  • Sea Lapland Safaris: forest: The highest ticket: three hours across the bay to forest in the wilderness. Per hour it costs exactly what the 90-minute sunrise ride does.

Kemi’s snowmobile tickets run from 99 to 260 euros, which reads like a straightforward ladder until you put the hours beside them. Then the cheapest ticket turns out to be the longest trip, and the ladder collapses.

The hour that costs a quarter of the others

Lapland Salmon Lodge sells four hours at a snowmobile park for 99 euros, which is 24.75 an hour. Sea Lapland Safaris’ rides from town cost 75 an hour at night, 77.50 on the ice fishing safari and 86.67 on both the 90-minute sunrise ride and the three-hour forest safari: three and a half times the park’s hour at the top of the range.

What the difference buys is the sea. The town rides go out onto the frozen Bothnian Bay, and the forest safari crosses it to woodland in the wilderness; the park trip stays on a marked area with a warm cabin. If riding on frozen sea is the point of the day, the park is the wrong trip at any price.

What is not in the ticket

Driving alone. Two adults normally share a machine. On the booking platform only the ice fishing safari prints what a machine to yourself costs: 55 euros a driver, subject to availability, which takes that trip to 210 euros. The Kemi agency that resells the sea rides prints a solo price for each: 70 euros more than sharing on the sunrise ride, 60 on the night ride and 85 on the forest ride, on top of its own shared prices.

Winter clothing is the other way round: the three rides from town include the outfit and a helmet, and the park listing does not say.

Which trips take children

Three of them, as far as the sellers say. The park trip seats children in a sled, which is why a family can spend four hours there for 396 euros. The sunrise ride seats small children in a sleigh and takes children from twelve who are at least 140 centimetres tall behind the driver. The platform’s night and forest listings say nothing about children, but the Kemi agency prices a child of three to eleven at 110 euros on the night ride, in a sled, and prints no child fare for the forest ride. Nobody under 18 drives on any of them.

Where each ride goes, when it leaves and what the sea ice is like are compared on snowmobile safaris in Kemi, the fishing on ice fishing in Kemi, and the rest of the town on the Kemi destination page.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is it cheaper through the platform or the Kemi agency?

Through the platform. A travel agency in Kemi resells the sunrise, night and forest rides at 150, 170 and 280 euros for two sharing a machine, 20 euros a head above the platform. It adds hotel pickup on the forest ride and on the sunrise ride for ten or more, and its terms keep 10 percent from 31 days out and half from 30 to 14 days, where the platform refunds up to a day before.

What would I owe if the snowmobile is damaged?

The platform listings in our record print no figure. The Kemi agency that resells the three sea rides caps the driver's liability at 800 euros per person, per snowmobile and per accident. If you book through the platform instead, ask the operator for its figure before you set off, and check whether your travel insurance covers a snowmobile excess.

Is the dearest ride the longest?

No. The forest safari costs 260 euros for three hours, which is the same 86.67 an hour as the 90-minute sunrise ride. What it adds is the distance: it crosses the frozen bay to a forest in the wilderness rather than turning back at the shore. The four-hour park trip is both the cheapest ticket and the cheapest hour.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →